The Kosher certification entails a lot of process. For the animal meat to be kosher, the animals must be slaughtered in a way that follows the kashrus laws. Shechitah is the term for the ritual slaughter and the Shochet is the person who slaughters the animal. He must make a quick but deep stroke across the throat using a very sharp blade having no unevenness. In this way death is almost instantaneous and painless because severing the sources of blood and oxygen to the brain causes unconsciousness within seconds. It is believed to be the most humane way of slaughter.

Then the Shochet will examine the carcass (especially the lungs) to ensure that it was healthy before it was slaughtered. Before it is cooked, all the blood must be drained by using a special salting and rinsing method. This is called “koshering”. The meat can also be roasted over an open fire for the blood to be drained. Following the traditional Shechita process can ensure that the blood is completely drained out of the meat. Some fats and body glands are not permitted to eat so the meat must be purged by an expert before cooking and eating.

The fish does not need the above process to be kosher. There is no specific way of “slaughtering” the fish and the blood of the fish is not considered forbidden. There are also no forbidden parts of a fish so it needs no purging.

Fresh fruits and vegetables are kosher by default including some fungi like the mushroom species and algae but they must be inspected for any infestation by bugs and insects. However there are some exception to these rules that pertains to all fruits and vegetables that come from the Land of Israel. Unless the the fruits and vegetables are tithed they can’t be eaten. Fruit juices and pulps are considered kosher (except nectars that contain many non-kosher additives and ingredients). Some kosher authorities advise on the kosher certification of pure fruit juice and pulps because the the utensils like the pasteurisers are probably used also to process non-kosher products. Kosher supervision is needed for the manufacture of wines, grape juices and grape derivatives.

All processed foods must be kosher certified. The products must have the logo of the kosher certifying agencies as well as the kosher symbols. The ingredients, additives and the processing equipments needs to be carefully inspected. If the main ingredients of the product is kosher but the minor ingredients are non kosher, the food product is still considered non- kosher. Example: Carmine, a red colouring food ingredient is non kosher because it is derived from beetles. An emulsifier can be made from a non-kosher animal fat so it is also non-kosher. Calcium Stearate is non-kosher because contains ingredients that maybe derived from animal fat. Food additives should surely be considered because they may contain products like gelatine, glycerine, mono and di glycerides which came from non-kosher animals.

Advertisements